Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There have been debates regarding whether the top priority of museums should be designed places for entertainment or education. In my opinion, both functions play equally vital roles, which will be discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, it is apparent that museums could become valuable educational tools in numerous ways. The most practical one, which should be taken into account is that exhibitions at museums, especially historical ones, could be used as realistic evidence to illustrate specific lessons, incentivizing students to be more engaged in history. More particularly, exhibitions of war remnants, such as guns, tanks, or planes might visually appeal and arouse one’s imagination. As a result, chances are they would be more inclined to look more into history and tend to memorize events’ meaning instead of cramming long and complicated lessons, which are taught at schools or universities.

On the other hand, integrating teaching with entertainment to form a place where numerous educational tools could also be seen as recreational, seems to be feasible. Particularly, tourists from around the world could visit random museums like archaeological, science, or art museums to find out how developed a country or an area is only by virtual reality. The tendency to use those cutting-edge gadgets has become ubiquitous among tourists when traveling to Vietnam, especially to Ho Chi Minh City, due to the fact that they can witness past events or continuing experiments with their own eyes.

In conclusion, I believe that museums can possibly become destinations for both recreation and education so as to attract both local and foreign visitors to simultaneously broaden their horizons and engage in leisure activities.