Some people think news has no connection to people’s lives. Therefore, it is a waste of time to read the newspaper and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that it is not worth spending time catching latest news through the media because it seems irrelevant to people’s daily lives. However, I strongly disagree with this opinion and would consider this as a wise use of time in some aspects.

The first reason is that people can make right decisions thanks to updated news from television or reading newspaper. In more details, if the weather forecast program says it would rain heavily on the following day, people will be more well-prepared with a raincoat beside when going out. Another example given is about a piece of news on a policy prohibiting the use of alcohol while driving, which has just been released and announced in the media. Those who catch it would then avoid paying fine by complying with the rule.

In addition, the news media provide information related to current health issues that individuals can take in consideration to protect themselves better. Looking at COVID-19 pandemic affecting severely all over the world, a lot of countries have forced people to practice social distancing and stay at home to reduce the chance of contracting the virus. Therefore, the media plays a critical role in communication during the lock-down period. By watching television, all citizens can be well informed about the occurrence of the pandemic in their location, as well as the way of prevention from be infected.

In conclusion, it is evident that news media covers all aspects of lives so it really brings a number of benefits to those who keep up with the up-to-date one.