Some people think news has no connection to people’s lives. So then it’s a waste of time to read the newspaper and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that there is no use in reading news and watching news programs because news is irrelevant to everyday life. Personally, while there is some truth in the pointlessness of reading newspapers and watching news programs, I still believe that there is a connection between news and people’s lives.

To begin with, I strongly disagree that news does not have any connection to everyday life. By definition, the news is information about important current events and is often categorized into different topics, each of which will attract a certain type of audience. For instance, sport-minded people will be interested in reading sport news, while businessmen will be more concerned with economic news. In other words, people’s interest in various fields will always be the glue that links news with people’s lives no matter what.

There are several reasons why I am convinced that reading the news and watching television news programs are time-consuming. The first reason is that people can read thousands of articles everyday, but only a few of them help people make better decisions in their life, career or business. For example, weather forecasts or sport newsletters rarely affect most of us . The second reason is that news programs produce news in a way that usually captures the attention of viewers. For instance, shocking and scandalous news which often holds little value in people’s lives, stimulates us and consumes a large amount of our time.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that the news always links with people’s daily lives. However, reading the news and watching television news programs are pointless for people to a certain extent.