Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The question of which is the best time for children to learn a foreign language attracts a lot of attention from parents and educators. Personally, I feel the golden time for children is at primary age due to the pros much exceeding the drawbacks, and I will explain why.

Firstly, the cognitive abilities of children aged 6 to 9 years old are less developed than those of teenagers, which impacts the ability to absorb information and handle their assignments. Cramming too much information into their heads can lead to befuddlement and stress. And when pupils have no time to relax and have fun, it causes a decline in learning achievement, delaying the acquisition of their first language. Secondly, children's self-study at that age is not as good as adolescents, thus they need more supervision from parents and teachers. This can result in distraction and a failure to achieve higher academic outcomes.

According to psychologists and pedagogical experts, early age is the best time for children to learn new knowledge and skills, including a new language. In this period, they can remember much more quickly and can mimic a new accent easily, without being shy, and with no fear of making mistakes, which will help them master speaking skills. Besides, pupils can learn and have fun with games, songs, and gain more knowledge of a new culture in foreign language lessons. One of the greatest benefits of knowing a second language from an early age is they may get an ideal job in the future due to companies (such as IBM, AIA) nowadays prioritizing candidates who have an excellent foreign language.

In conclusion, I believe that the sooner children are exposed to a new language, the better. And the benefits surpass the downsides.