Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In any type of sports for being successful, strength plays a vital role for any player to play a fantastic game. Some believe that physical strength is the most important aspect for success while others believe that mental strength is more important. I partially agree with above statement that physical strength is more important than mental strength. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in detail and argue as to why physical strength is more important than mental strength.

To begin with, there are several reasons why physical strength is a major aspect to succeed in sports. Firstly, physical strength gives a player the power to be in the game and showcase techniques. There is not much that a player can achieve by being mentally fit, because to win a game players have to run, jump, attack and defend. All these activities performed by the body, and without a strong body they cannot continue playing. Secondly, the reason why a player should be physically fit, it builds self-confidence and positivity in a player to perform well and one can make an impression on others. On the other side if the person is not fit and gain unnecessary weight, then he might not be the right choice of the selectors because of his physical appearance. For example, in a football match, players should be physically fit throughout the match because they have to spend 90 minutes on the field with the ball. To perform that extend they need tremendous physical power so that they can play a long stretch. So until and unless players are not physically prepared, they cannot give their best. That is the reason physical strength is most important aspect to succeed in athletics.

However, being mentally fit is also important for any sport player’s success because they should be able focus on their game and never loss their sight from the goal. Furthermore, it will only happen when players are mentally fit. For example, in badminton match if a player keep running behind from another player it can cause of mental stress, and if he is not mentally able to prepare himself to come back on the game, one can loss the match even before they finish.

In conclusion, although being medically fit is important, but it is not enough to succeed in sports as they need a vast physical strength to achieve their set of goals. It is clear with above discussion that for being a successful player, one needs both abilities.