Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people

think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some proponents believe that the success of athletes is mainly decided by physical strength, the others argue that the importance of having a strong mind is more significant. This essay will shed light on both views before concluding that body strength is more important to succeed in sport.

Great mental strength prevents athletes from giving up and helps them concentrate during contests. Professional athletes need to go through intense training sessions in a long period of time, which could be boring and exhausting. If their mind are weak, they will lose their determination and stop trying to reach their success. Additionally, those people need a stable state of mind to maintain concentration during important competitions. Basketball and soccer, for instance, require high levels of mental strength as the teams’ spirit decide their victories.

The basis for every athlete to success in their career is physical strength. While the others do exercises to stay healthy, those who want to success in sport need outstanding body strength. Weight lifting athletes win when they lift the most weight or marathon athletes win the gold metals when they reach the finishing line first, for example. They also need a more resilient body than normal people as their training courses could be dangerous. Their body could, as a result, get serious injuries and if it couldn’t recover, their career would be finished. In those circumstances, even if they have great mind strength, success is still far to reach without physical strength.

In conclusion, while strong minds could benefit athletes in certain aspects, I believe that having good body strength is more significant for their success.