Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that children should grow up in a competitive environment in order to be successful in future adult life. Others believe that they should learn the value of co-operation to work effectively in future. I believe that children can develop better and become efficient if they imbibe co-operation.

Competition does provide an impetus to child's development. A healthy competing situation can motivate children to improve their performance. It also boost creativity, hard work and instills a sense of accomplishment in them. A good example of this can be seen when child competes in individual sports competition such as, swimming. However, competition can also have a detrimental effect on child's psychology. The failure to achieve desired result may lead to a sense of loss and can lead to depression. Depending on the experience, the child may develop into a confident adult or a dejected adult with lack of confidence in his abilities.

Co-operation, on the other hand, can prove to be better quality to be developed in children. When children are taught to co-operate with their friends and peers, they learn quality of team-work, which in future is valuable to contribute to society. they also learn to understand and empathize with different perspectives of their classmates. It can also push them to focus more on productivity of task rather than just finishing it in order to win a competition. For instance, in absence of competition, while working on a science project, children can effectively work with other students by exchanging ideas and learn from the project rather than just making it to secure prize in competition.

The qualities of team work, respecting different viewpoints, empathy and productivity are very important to work in adult life and therefore, learning to co-operate can help children to develop these qualities.