Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people claim that students should learn how to cook and prepare food, while others claim that it is more beneficial for them to learn important subjects. In my opinion, it is more important to spend time on school subjects, rather than on cooking lessons. Let us discuss both views.

First of all, spending time on school subjects is required for future work. Most students pay more attention to subjects that their future job will be associated with. Althought, theoretical knowledge usually appears to be not very relevant for the job, it gives a good basis for practical skills.

Secondly, school subjects give us general knowledge which is required for life. During the lessons students learn how to write, count and read. Older teenagers study history and science, which makes them intelligent and educated people. Knowledge of some facts like beginning of WWI is obligatory and makes a person - person.

Finally, we study subjects to get some useful skills such as critical thinking, communication and investigation abilities. During educational process students conduct researches, talk to each other and communicate, which develops their communication and investigation skills. On the math lessons students develop their critical thinking .

Opponents claim that science of food is more important than general school lessons. It can be argued that it is better to learn something that one will undoubtedly need in life like cooking. Students learn tons of useless information like higher math and other subjects that one will not need in future life.

However, I still believe that students can learn cooking home with their mothers for example. School time should be totally dedicated to important subjects.