Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on important subjects.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In modern learning environments, students can select specific subjects to advance their personal study. Many people hold a view that food science and its preparation should be part of the school curriculum, whereas others and I think other key subjects should be more prioritized.

On the one hand, a certain amount of insightful knowledge into food making can exert many benefits for its learners in terms of improved well-being. It is a fact that many non-toxic ingredients might turn out to be detrimental to people’s health if being cooked in a mixture. For example, in high-temperature conditions, substances in various foods might react and then transform into poisons causing fatal consequences within minutes of ingestion such as botulism or leading to chronic diseases like blood clots. Teaching food science and food processing may help in those cases, so they should be put into the subject plan so as to equip students with necessary knowledge for potential health risk avoidance.

On the other hand, other people and I are of the opinion that schools should teach students more important academic disciplines, particularly liberal and social sciences for the sake of their future. Firstly, the youth can acquire a wide range of skills which can be favorable for upper learning. Most prestigious universities accept students according to both high school academic results and on merits. Secondly, students would be likely to secure a good job at the workplace after graduation. Having a profound knowledge plus practical skills, they can easily attain a high-ranked position with a lucrative salary in a renowned company. Therefore, it is crucially important to place pragmatic subjects at the top priority for a solid foundation for learners’ future prospect.

In summary, despite the sensible suggestion for food science integration, it is more vital the core subjects be focused because of positive career prospect later. Where possible I think the subject of food science ought to be synthesized into the school syllabus as an extra activity.