Some scientist thinks that there are intelligent life forms on other planets and messages should be sent to contact them. Other scientists think it is a bad idea and would be dangerous. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whether humans should contact aliens from different planets or not, is a controversial issue. In this essay, I will elaborate on both merits and drawbacks of the viewpoint and explain why I support postponing interaction with alien creatures.

Interaction with other extraterrestrial races could hold the key to the survival and development of our civilization. If humankind could interact with intelligent alien races and they were keen on sharing their experience with us, humans can attain a great deal of valuable knowledge to maintain our appearance on earth. More importantly, by adopting new technologies from aliens, humans could apply the technological advances to our world, which can lead to improvement in many aspects of our lives. For instance, people may be able to exploit the energy from the stars, thereby reducing our dependence on fossil fuels, which mitigates the negative impacts from the utilization of the resources.

On the other hand, communicating with other races beyond our world implies several pitfalls. The first possibility is that we would stand a higher risk of being invaded by living creatures from the outer space. If our messages are sent to aggressive and advanced aliens, which are craving for expanding their colony to gain more accommodation and resources, the earth is likely to be their target for an invasion. Another downside of contacting other life forms from the universe is that it would spread out dangerous diseases, which pose a great threat to the health of the earth's civilians. This is because, the environment on other planets may be different from ours, which can contain pathogens that are harmful to human beings.

In sum, there are both benefits and disadvantages when people attempt reaching to intelligent creatures from space. I am of the idea that we should delay our initial connection to other worlds until we are able to prepare all relevant conditions for the event to happen.