Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

These days, a lot of students tend to take a year out before continuing to pursue their college education. It is argued that the gap year is an opportunity for freshmen to find out their careers or discover the world around them. However, I assume that this trend will do more harm than good to both individuals and society.

Firstly, taking a gap year would bring various benefits, especially, it encourages the college student can find out their interest and discover the world around them. While having a year out, for the student could travel and learn from other parts of their country, they would have many new experiences and knowledge that they can use for later research or studying. Besides, many students can not define their career at the time they have graduated from high school, so, a year out is the best chance for them to figure out what they really enjoy and also former their careers.

Nevertheless, there is a combination of reasons why delay going to university for a year is harmful, particularly, free-year can raise some concern related to confidence and workload when coming back to school. Taking a gap year is can put a strain on the cognition of students because they have started late compared with their peers. As a result, it would be hard for year-out students to catch up with their friends or an enormous number of exercises, and, indirectly, can lead to a long consequence for the future educational career. In addition, while the college out of school for a year, in fact, they can not learn as much as they will in the university and this seems a wasting-time year.

In conclusion, I suppose that student is to go to university instead of taking a gap year. On the other hand, freshmen can gain life experience through their tutor which is a more effective way to enhance their skills.