Some people think that newspapers are the best way to learn news. However, others believe that they can learn news better through other media. Discuss both views and give your opinion?
While some argue that newspapers are optimal method of getting news, others
believe that other online news sources are more effective way to receive news.
This essay will elaborate on two perspectives and the reasons why I favor the
latter.
On the one hand, newspaper remain a crucial source of news for several reasons.
Chief of these is that the older generation still prefers to read news through
newspaper as their long-lasting habits was constituted when platforms providing
news online had not been advented. More specifically, they have traditionally
bought a newspaper over the years and simply do not want to change or do not
know how to access news online. Another justification why newspapers are
favored is that this provides the beneficial information. For example, the U.S
national newspaper supplies various topics such as domestic, international socio-
economic situation, and prices of commodities that are practical for workers.
On the other hand, although newspaper may still exist prolongly, other media like
the Internet is likely to become the more dominant source of news over time. This
is because people with portable electronic devices, such as a smart phone, can
access a huge storage of news just by a few clicks in the contemporary life.
Therefore, getting information through the Internet is much more easier than
newspaper, leading to a satisfying experience for readers. Furthermore, thanks to
internet-based platforms, news about an incident happening half the world could
be retrieved within a few seconds after its commencement, which renders news
updates one day later on conventional newspaper out of date.
In conclusion, despite the fact that printed newspapers still play a vital role, I
support the trend that they will be eclipsed by online news. From my perspective,
given the benefits the Internet brings for readers, there will be an decreasing
number of newspapers published in the near future.