In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case?

What can be done about this problem?

The majority of the population around the globe are still suffering from hunger, although there are lots of advancement in agricultural technology. This situation is due to the lower economic condition of people and this issue can be solved by focusing on cheaper and geographically suitable means of technology.

Many people in the world are still below the poverty level due to which greater advancements are not in the reach of the majority of farmers. Moreover, all the middle-class farmers are still stalking the subsistence type of farming practices and those farmers themself are not able to grow sufficient food for themselves. For instance, the majority of Nepalese farmers are middle class and they cannot grow food for themselves year-round from traditional agriculture.

This problem can be solved by innovating low-cost technology which is suitable for all ranges of farmers. This technology can increase the efficiency of production, which in turn contributes to growing more food and assists in solving the problem of hunger. For example, the development of cheaper greenhouses helps to increase the production of agricultural commodities in the hilly region of Nepal and plays a significant role in solving the problem of food deficit. Furthermore, geographically suitable technology can be easily adopted by farmers. Small and easily accessible technology has a greater rate of adoption and it assists in greater productivity.

In conclusion, because of the lack of economic resources, farmers are insisted to adopt traditional methods which results in lower production and the problem of food scarcity; meanwhile, easily accessible technologies which are cheap and suitable in all area helps to curtail the food shortage issue.