Studies show that crime rates are lower among those with educational degrees. Therefore, the best way to reduce the crime rate is to educate criminals while they are still in prison.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Admittedly, professional degree holders are less inclined to criminality. Hence, the suggestion to diminish the crime volume is to provide instructions of morality while incarcerating offenders. I completely disagree with this view as to have a sustainable and solid education system is a more justified solution to help crack down crime.

On the one hand, criminality is not merely associated with the figure of illiteracy as generally believed. Notwithstanding the social class in which a person receives formal or informal education, the context where the material life conditions are unable to cover the exorbitant daily costs could arouse their pessimistic attitudes and embark on the criminal road for intangible pressure of survival. For instance, many graduates from universities fail in seeking occupations, being unemployed and not only incapable of providing for themselves a sustainable living but are also deemed the social burden by family and the others. Potentially, in some offences conducted by this group, crime could be attributed to anti-social offense, leading to robberies and severe murder for posessions.

For another, rehabilitative measures could be a feasible solution to strengthen the law-abiding awareness among prisoners. Evidently, certain forms of deterrences are essential to curb the repeat crime incidence but the results are not always desirable. Any sense of fear or respectation for the law system will gradually lose without enhancements. Otherwise, prevention is deemed better than cure, secured education must be implemented to get to the root of the problem. Children should be instructed and geared towards ethical behavior from an early age and emphasis must be laid on the development of clarity to distinguish illegal and legal activities. Juvenile delinquency once is prevented will entail a drastic reduction in further criminality within a firm.

To conclude, the option to educate offenders is necessary but not sweeping to curb crime rates. Yet, education in formative years will be more reasonable in the long run.