Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

Why do you think this is the case?

What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

With the advent of information technology, easy access to internet and cheap price of cellular phones, meeting online has gained enormous popularity among the younger generation. With that being said, they do not prefer meeting in person anymore as it was before the era of mobile phones.

There are several reasons of shifting the traditional physical hangout to online socializing. Firstly, young generations are quite fascinated with the modern information technology. A mobile phone can be used for multple functions. It can be handy for watching movies and videos instantly, for calling and texting easily, searching necessary information in he browser, creating interactive contents like animation, videos and posting opinion freely in the social media. For instance, when a teenage get this tool in hand, phychologically he or she becomes charmed and tend to spend more times with this. Furthermore, these activities cannot be done when they are together in a group of people. Hence, they prefer socializing online.

Secondly, many parents are now restricting their teenage boys and girls from hanging out with peers for various reasons such as fearing of being spoiled by bad company, to spend more time inhouse for study due to increase of competiton and socio-political instabilities in many countries. Which prevents young generations from socialtizing in person rather online communications is more easier for them.

There are many possible solutions to address this issue. Government can restrict use of mobile phones until a certain age, or restricting the opening a social account for a certain age period would be highly beneficial. Parents should take care of their boys and girls so that they do not get phones until they are mature enough to understand the pros and cons of using social media. Local voluntary organizations could b build up which could organize the social events where young generations could participate and meet peers personally.