In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way.

Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Within the free market of capitalist systems, the novelty of products is the driving deriving force of marketing and sales, with companies spending significant amounts of money on product presentations, optics, and promises of changing the world. A fundamental reason for this organizational behavior may be the abundance of profits gained from being or pretending to be innovative. I regard this development as mostly negative due to its environmental and ethical consequences.

Regarding the reason for novelty-centered advertisments, it may be best to touch on the tendency of novelty-seeking that exists within many cultures. Individuals, specially those within individualistic cultures, tend to enjoy accessing new materials, as it provides them with a pleasant gratification. While this trait has been at the root of valuable inventions, it has the potential to be misused by big companies, because they can capitalize on this desire to advertise their products in a way that makes them difficult to resist. For example, tech companies regularly rely on this tactic by introducing minimal changes to an old product but showcasing it as a cutting-edge new device.

This development comes with certain consequences. To advertise new products, companies should dedicate considerable parts of their budget to actually manufacturing new products. Excessive investing on novelty means that not enough funds are being directed toward preservation, specially environmental preservation. Production process utilizes the earth’s resources and is a main cause of Earth pollution, but gives little back toward its maintainance. Furthermore, the desire for being the first company to produce a new good results in disregard for potential moral consequences with regard to not only the earth, but also the people. For example, advancements in artificial intelligence, although quite fascinating, not only require a substantial amount of energy, but also bring up moral questions, such as the issues regarding its impact on the economy and unemployment.

In conclusion, allowing for individuals’ creativity and passion for innovation to flourish is positive in essence, but negative outcomes are also expected. Therefore, appropriate legal frameworks are essential to regulate businesses’ attempts to take advantage of this human tendency.