In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

As early as 4000 years BC, advertising was the most effective form of customer attention that encouraged them to spend. This is always true despite the swift growth of society. Currently, however, companies increasingly highlight in their advertising that their items are novel. In my opinion, this is probably explained in terms of consumer behavior psychology, and it is broadly negative development.

The prime reason that enterprises tend to advertise their products as new is they want to appeal to consumer attention. According to the study of consumer behavior, every marketer is distinct, but the objective of their business is the same, they want customers to buy their products or services. As marketers believe this notion, it is obvious that competition is striving for the attention of the consumer. As a result, these experts must discover strategies to differentiate themselves from the competitors. Accentuating some new features is one method for accomplishing this.

Nevertheless, the stress on novelty is ambiguous and sometimes misleading about consumer thinking of the product. This is perceived as a red herring to distract consumers, instead of focusing on product quality, they are fascinated by appearances. Take Heineken as an example, the 100-year-old beer brand, has always concentrated on updating the product package type regularly, with the change occurring every four to five years. It is conspicuous that the quality is unchanged, familiar elements and tastes, but different packaging. This new wine in old bottle policy is only a short-term gratification, however, consumers need a new thing with new quality. Consequently, consumers brick by brick lose faith in commodities and are frustrated with the cliche advertising that they get for no benefit.

In conclusion, advertising is essential to making people willing to purchase, notwithstanding, businesses need the best and most effective use of advertising to evade controversy and distrust.