In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way.

Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, companies commonly have the tendency to stress new points of their products in the advertising they performed in order to sell more goods. In my opinion, this is a progressive development as it leads to more informed consumers.

Indeed, when an enterprise produces a new product, they need to consider the best way they are able to do to sell more and more products as much as possible. In order to reach the target, they definitely studied who is their potential customer and what these people are interested in. That is one of the reasons why, they often advertise their merchandise with unique features to attract customer’s attention and encourage them to buy and try them to experience the differences from other products on the market. Take Orion as an example. Recently, they have launched a kind of new pie that collaborated with Black Pink and their advertising video mainly focuses on points of difference such as packaging printed photos of Black Pink, pinky pie, and a lot of lovely stickers enclosed instead of the quality or taste of pies.

On the other hand, from the perspective of consumers, advertising highlighted new features will help them identify the advantages of the products, compare these characteristics with their needs and give choices to buy more easily. Chat GPT is a good case in point. According to their advertising, we know the application is an incredibly smart assistant, that surpasses all of the applications at present. It can help people write essays, produce content, develop code, etc. Of course, consumers can’t wait to experience these functions and they will want to own this app as soon as possible.

To sum up, enterprises advertising new products by emphasizing new features of them is a good way to increase sales. At the same time, this is a highly constructive phenomenon as it is leading to more informed consumers who are making better purchasing decisions.