In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way.

Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Advertising is increasingly becoming popular nowadays and businesses always find the ways to attract their customers. There are several reasons why companies usually highlight that their products are novel and unique and I believe that it is a beneficial approach.

Businesses usually emphasise that their products are new because some reasons related to drawing customer’s attention and showing their special technologies. On the one hand, all companies want to approach as much as possible potential customers through their advertising. It is true that people always are interested in new and exotic things, so showing the new feature of a product will attract people’s curiosity and make them want to try it. For example, Samsung introduces their new phone, Zfold series in particular, emphasised its unique feature which allows users to fold a phone like a book and this drew a lot of attention of customers. Furthermore, it also is to show their advanced technologies. When advertising focuses on a new property that is only appeared on a product of a company, it means that they are controling an exclusive technology.

Personally, I believe that this approach is positive for both companies and customers. Following the method will encourage new technologies, innovations and this is a vital factor in the developed world. To make a new feature, companies need to research and develop new production processes, novel materials in order to they can show these characteristics on their advertising. On top of that, emphasising new elements in a product will make strong impression to customers, in other words, their advertising will bring better impacts that help customers to remember their products.

In conclusion, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are novel because of various reasons, and I believe that this approach is a positive development.