Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been a growing debate about whether the public’s purchasing behaviour tend to be affected by an advertisement which has a strong power although it is unnecessary. Some people argue that advertisement plays an important role in providing information about substances and they do not impact on consumer’s wallet. Others, on the other hand, believe that some of them have a significant influence on human desire. This essay will identify both viewpoints surrounding this issue before coming to a reasoned conclusion.

On the one hand, some people hold the view that commercial programs do not impact on customer’s purchasing behaviour. In other words, people would purchase things depending on their ability. Even though their preferences match with products on the tv show, they will not buy them if they cannot afford them. However, I believe that this theory is unreasonable and it is not based on all cases. Since there are several online shopping malls where people can compare and choose the affordable price and quality, financial ability became not a big deal.

Despite the aforementioned argument, I believe that almost everyone is attracted to advertising since the trend of our society has been rotated quickly. This is because companies are become more competitive to produce sophisticated advertisements for goods and it satisfies human desire who are worn out of everyday life. As well as this, advertising does not only illustrate the positive effects of the product but also it is very informative. So, this encourages people to purchase it that could be fooled into a belief that they can do everything with it. Specifically, many young people such as teenagers and graduates prefer buying diet medication from home-shopping program to buying it from registered pharmacy or hospital. This is evidenced by the fact that celebrities on TV advertising mention only beneficial impacts and they believe that they can have the same appearance with celebrities when they consume it.

To sum up, it can be observed that there are two contradicting viewpoints about whether advertisement impact on purchasing habits of human or not. Although some people may not interesting in the advertisement, I believe that it can be a huge impact on human desire, owing to the reasons discussed above.