Today many countries import food from different parts of the world. is this a negative or positive development?

It is no exaggeration to claim that flat world seems to facilitate the global trade when import or export practices are no longer strange. Although some lament that importing products from other countries takes a toll in general, I lean on the idea that the movement of purchasing goods brings more good than harm to the economy of both developing and developed countries.

On the one hand, poor quality along with high intake of toxic chemicals in products received provide an incentive to importing items produced by other countries. are deemed to be the main reasons. Firstly, the difference in quality criteria must be the reason for this hesitation. Some exporting countries set relatively low requirements for their manufacturing companies in order to help them export products to other foreign countries, which leads to the importers’ fear of quality. This somehow can receive the strong censure from customers in the importing countries since it does not give them the value of money. Secondly, the amount of contaminants in merchandise is another obstacle in boosting the trade between countries. In fact, it is fairly arduous to inspect all the imported items; therefore, buyers themselves cannot guarantee whether they are absorbing a high intake of poisonous chemicals into their bodies or not. Taking Vietnam’s shrimps as a great example when in the past they used to be banned to America’s market when the government of this country unveiled an over-allowed level of chemicals in some cargos. However, with the strict regulations imposed on both importer and exporter, these worries are no longer necessary.

Currently, importing field is considered as a useful tool to boost the economy of both parties involving the purchase. The term opportunity cost can demonstrate the correctness of this movement. It is widely accepted that each country has different strengths in manufacturing items; therefore, instead of wasting more material sources or labors in a particular product, they can particularly focus on another one which can bring higher benefits. That is why importing even can save manufacturing cost. Furthermore, in the importer perspective, thank to this trading practice, the unemployment rate can be addressed effectively. This is because a large number of uneducated workers now are able to work in different factories when the demand of importing products augments. Hence, the prospect of the economy is likely to be predicted.

In conclusion, trading with other countries is believed to bring more advantages to both importers and exporters.