Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

It is true that tourism is developing so fast that there are many arguments about what it brings to the countries, benefits or drawbacks. To my view, both positive and negative factors contributing to that kind of industry.

Firstly, when considering the constructive side, there are numerous of profits which tourism provides us. As we can obviously see that tourism plays an important role in the development of a nation’s economy. Take mountainous areas as an example, many local people can benefit from the job opportunities that tourism offers them because these days, they can make a wealth of choices to get the jobs they want such as instructors for the tourists and souvenir salesman to earn their livings. In addition, the promotion of tourism also has an imperative effect on culture. In the era of integration, every country has a strong desire to share the quintessence of their elegance with others so that the countries can become more connected.

On the other hand, tourism development is also the cause of many problems, especially pollution issues and culture clashes. When it comes to tourism, holidays and vacations are also concerned. After every big holiday, there will appear a large number of articles about the awareness of tourists and the alert of pollution due to nothing left but trash. Moreover, the development of tourism is the process that put the traditional culture into the modern world. To point out, many customs have been changed so that the tourists can easily experience them, which can lose the cultural identity

In conclusion, everything has its own perks and tourism is not the exception. Therefore, we cannot eliminate it from our society. Maybe the best thing we can do is trying to promote its effective side and limit its unfavourable one.