The tradition of families getting together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

Nowadays, eating habits with family are gradually fading. This essay will outline a number of reasons and a number of its associated effects.

Firstly, the younger people today are facing a lot of pressure more than ever before. As a student, one has to deal with heavy educational programs, and typically children in Asian nations usually spend about 10 hours a day and 6 days a week at school, not to mention extra classes in the evening. So they end up having no time to spend with their family members but rather friends. As a worker, one is too occupied with his/her work and social relationships. For example, in Japan, after finish administrative working hours people tend to still at work until late evening and then they would attend exchanges with their colleagues before going home. Secondly, the fast-food culture of modern life is replacing traditional meals because fast food can be found everywhere and is usually an inexpensive food choice. Young people in VietNam, for instance, often grab a quick meal after a busy day at work or school, which leads them skipping meals with their family.

The trend has both positive and negative impacts on people. In terms of the benefits, they are able to be much more flexible with their time since they will not have to show up at a fixed hour to have meals with their family and can eat whatever and whenever they want. However, in terms of negative effects, eating together is not only the key to maintaining family values, but also a time to help people engage. The lacking of interaction between family members through meals would widen the gap between generations and the consequence is leading to conflict and unhappiness.

In conclusion, the tendency of family members eating separately is mainly caused by the difference in their schedules or the preference to eat fast food, which can have both beneficial and detrimental impacts.