The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

With the significant change of lifestyle today, eating meals together in a family becomes more and more difficult. Besides, there are numerous of reasons put forward to explain for this issue. The following reasons are various consequences to children and family life.

At first, the reason for the disappearance of family meals comes from children’s disobedience when they never listen and follow their parents’ guidance. Simply, the children always want to enjoy their meals in front of the television or computer with their favourite program instead of having lunch or dinner time with their parents. Moreover, instability in the family model might be a reason in the case, especially the close-knit family one is no longer promoted as a priority. Therefore, in some single-parent households that they must spend almost time working at offices, it is not easy for all members to have mealtimes.

As the consequences, lacking mealtimes together causes problems related to health, especially with children, as well as affects negatively to family’s life. From the perspective of children’s health as growth, they would lose important lessons from their parents that are only happened in mealtimes. In addition, children not enjoying meals with their parents also make them face disadvantages in shaping their personality for some formative years. In terms of family life, mealtimes together can create a good habit in connection and sympathy. In some countries, family meals are deemed to be a sacred daily activity engaging all members together. So, no family mealtime means cultural valuation is negatively fading day by day.

In conclusion, traditional meals are disappearing today because of many reasons affected by changes in lifestyle. The consequences resulted are obvious in children’s health and family’s life.