The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people in society tend to use social media to communicate instead of using face-to-face interaction. Of course, the benefits of social media is undeniable, but I think it also has many drawbacks.

The most important benefit of using social media is that it is extremely convenient for information exchange and relationship maintenance at a long distance and this is especially useful for members of families who are apart because of working or studying abroad and for multinational companies. Another exemplify of this is when people have been social distance by the corona pandemic. People have limited transportation and often have to work from home. In these cases, face-to-face communications are difficult to carry on and are replaced by using video calls or online conferences via support apps. This makes the constraints of geographical distance would be eliminated.

On the other hand, I personally believe that social media do more harm than good on daily basis. First of all, online conversations reduce the quantity of interaction that uses verbal language. Because users get used to using slang words on the social network so they are not able to communicate by formal sentences and they might become impolite if using those words in the wrong circumstances. Besides, social media has some negative impact on children. A lot of children become addicted to online interaction and imitate bad behavior on the social network that negatively affect young people’s learning and awareness.

In conclusion, despite the huge benefits of social media, it has many drawbacks that directly impacts on human life. The government and citizens should have significantly considered this issue.