The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s world, the communication inside social media has become more popular than the conventional way of physical interaction with people. In my opinion, it has both advantages and disadvantages. In the following information, the reasons will be discussed.

Firstly, the people who live or study in foreign countries cannot meet their families and friends very often because of the high cost of traveling or time. But the solution to talk or contact their loved ones with free of charge is social media such as Facebook Messenger, Wechat, and so on. Secondly, once people pay small amount of money for the usage of the internet, they are able to have conversation with their friends and families anytime and from everywhere by using the computer or smartphone, and people can use the digital screen for other purposes.

Furthermore, seeing each other in person has become one of the risky ways to spread any kind of deadly disease that involves the respiratory system nowadays. According to the World Health Organization, people are advised to stay at home and prefer social distancing. So, only way to know whether their family, relatives and friends are safe during the pandemic is the advancement of technology: social media.

On the other hand, it is said that socializing with people personally gives people more feeling of being loved and being cared when they surrounded by the closest people. It means that people having in-person meeting with their friends and family tend to be psychologically relaxed and feel better. Moreover, people need to meet face-to-face if they want to maintain their friendship strong owing to the fact that friends on social media cannot be true companions.

To conclude, the online platform has its benefits while there are other drawbacks. Even though social media has become a vital part of everyday life, we still have a choice to decide which way is more suitable for us to communicate with people.