When children start school, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence and social development than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that teachers create a greater impact on children’s intellectual and behavioral development compare to parents. I disagree with this view, because I believe that the role of teacher and parents is the same.

On the one hand, it is significant that the role of teachers is inevitable. Firstly, most teachers apply social constructivism educational approach so that children can acquire knowledge and develop soft skills through social activities. Children often work in groups to develop teamwork, collaboration skills, problem-solving skills and to have respect and consideration forward others. Secondly, once kids face challenges in schools, teachers are guide children through the quest and show them how to deal with different situations by applying fundamental knowledge. For example, teachers teach children read, write and to do maths as well as to know about the world and the universe.

On the other hand, the pivotal role of parents in children’s intellectual and social development is undeniable. Teachers have to take care a lot of kids in their classroom but parents are only look after their own children. Therefore, children spend a larger proportion of time with their parents compare to their teachers. Furthermore, children have many similar behavioural traits to their parent’s as the result of hereditary characteristics and social interaction. For instance, musical oriented parents often have musical talented kids.

In conclusion, I would agrue that it is important for teachers and parents to play equally roles in children’s life and outside of school. Therefore, neither of them outweights one another.