Write about the following topic.

To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

The population nowadays is increasing rapidly, following that is the growing need in food supplement. Several source of foods have been sought, one of them is insects. The idea of using edible insects as a food sources has always been controversial and there a lot of benefits and drawbacks have been pointed out. Now we will take a look for some.

Eating insects has some notable benefits. Firstly, lots of them contain decent amount of proteins, with is essential to maintain and strengthen our body. Specifically they can increase muscle mass and improve weight loss, which is ideal for athletes and people who want to lose weight. Secondly, insects are universal and diverse, we will never be worried about the food problem if we use them as the food source. Thirdly, establishing an insects industry will create more job for farmer and worker and also provide them a stable income. One more thing is that we can introduce this strange food to tourists, attracting them and therefore developing the tourist industry and also the nation's economy.

On the other hand, consuming insects also has some drawbacks. First, insects are not clean, many of them consume decaying foods, dead animals and other polluted things. So if we eat them, we will absorb a large amount of bacteria and it can increase the risk of heart diseases. The second drawback is the use of pesticides in harvesting insects, we can’t ignore the fact that the use of pesticides in producing edible insects is largely unregulated so using them as a food source does carry an amount of risk. Another significant drawback is the limited knowledge about insects, it is hard to know what is edible and what can be poisonous. So eating insects carelessly will be risky to our health.

In conclusion, eating insects have both benefits and drawbacks, so every country should consider both issues carefully and make relevant policies for a better live.