You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Environmental issues have a massive impact on countries and the public. It is believed that these problems can only be tackled by the government and big organizations while individuals are unable to solve them. I partly agree with this viewpoint for several reasons and this essay will shed light on my opinion.

On the one hand, I attest that some issues require the government to take action but not individuals. Those are often serious and cross-border problems that demand the co-operation between different countries. For example, climate change and global warming occur in a large scale so that only the authority know how to deal with them. Furthermore, several types of contaminants such as radioactive are attributed to the weather or the location of a country, in which people cannot change anything about them. Such polutants are solely tackled by using cutting-edge technology produced by big organizations and top-notch scientists.

On the other hand, I opine that normal people like us still bear the responsibility for making the world green. Nowadays, there are a lot of environmental activists who raise their voice and give speeches about the problem. This can raise people's awareness about saving the environment by using eco-friendly products, taking out garbage in trash cans or economizing electric. For instance, Greta Thunberg, who is a renowned environmentalist coming from Sweden, successfully caused the decrease in carbon emissions in America and Chinese for giving a touching speech about going green. Moreover, it is also a good idea to for celebrities to endorse green products and volunteer in environmental activities, which can positively influence the masses due to their popularity.

In conclusion, some people deny the responsibility of individuals 'contribution to the environment and only trust the government in lessening these issues. Nevertheless, I address that not only the authority, but also each person can make every possible effort to make the world greener.