Young people who commit serious crimes, such as robbery or violent attacks should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are arguments about whether juveniles should be confronted with consequences for committing severe crimes like robbery or assault in an equal way as adults. I believe, they ought to take responsibility for their acts, yet differently, and I will explain why.

Young people with a lack of self-awareness, under the influence of peer pressure, or the effect of parents’ divorce are more likely to engage in risky behaviour. Therefore, the focus of the minor justice system should be to rehabilitate young offenders. So that she or he can be a functioning and law-abiding adult. For example, instead of sending them to a prison where they will be surrounded by dangerous criminals, the judge may allow them to remain in a reformatory school where they can continue their academic studies while also receiving counselling and treatment. These solutions will assist them in identifying the proper actions to take and avoiding those who or situation that is harmful to their future. Besides, if these juveniles are treated very seriously by the court, they may carry serious and long-lasting consequences like mental ill-health or disorder behaviour. The minors are future generations; thus, we should educate them and give them opportunities to contribute and to be responsible members of society.

Admittedly, criminals of all ages should be held accountable for their actions, regardless of their age or maturity. However, it is unfair and merciless to send them to the same court, as they are not grown enough for such severe penalties.

In conclusion, I don't agree with the view that adolescent delinquency should take the same sentence as adult delinquency. The reason is that they do not yet have full self-control and the harsh penalty may have adverse outcomes.