Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it positive or negative development?

While statistics can be refuted, undoubtedly there is convincing evidence that advertising industry has grown beyond recognition over recent years. The role that ads play in today’s life is hard to be ignored. Nevertheless, this developed industry poses some pros and cons, however, it seems that the shortcomings outweigh the benefits.

To begin with, clearly, advertisements have many merits which capable people to benefit from. Educational role of ads is the first and perhaps the most important role. To illustrate this, in comparison to last decades, when the commercials were not as popular as today, the public awareness on different subjects has increased significantly. For instance, people are able to gain a huge information about the last technological inventions like the recent model of electrical device such as camera, computer, TV set or staff like that. Second positive aspect that is associated with ads is more competition among producers that causes more reduction of prices. For example, in dairy industry where there are lots of producers, they can attract more consumers by offering lower price on their advertisements.

On the other hand, commercials bring a new set of concerns. First of all, they uses some tricks which create unreal needs. Since producers concern about sales promotion and they want to capture more market share, ads are able to persuade people to buy things that they do not need. Temptation is one of the certain goals of advertising, consequently, there are some potential problems that are certain to arise. Materialistic approaches and environmental damages are two main problems. Another negative point is the detrimental effect of commercial on eating habits of society. For example, advertisements on fast foods or unhealthy snacks can change the people’s diet, especially young generation. This alarming trend poses serious threats about health. Obesity or high blood pressure because of overconsumption of fast food are main concerns of governmental leaders.

In conclusion, all mentioned points provide a concrete foundation that in spite of many advantages like educating people, advertisements have more negative impacts that in long-term can cause many potential problems.