Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it positive or negative development?

While statistics can be refuted, undoubtedly there is convincing evidence that the advertising industry has grown beyond recognition over recent years. Although this development associated with some benefits like increased public awareness and also some drawbacks such as the popularity of Materialistic approaches or unhealthy diets, however, it seems that the shortcomings outweigh the benefits.

To begin with, clearly, advertisements have some potential merits which capable people to benefit from. The educational role of ads is the first and perhaps the most important role. To illustrate this, in comparison to last decades, when the commercials were not as popular as today, the public awareness of different subjects has increased significantly. For instance, people are able to gain significant information about the last technological inventions like the recent model of electrical devices such as the camera, computers, TV sets or staff like that. The second positive aspect that is associated with ads is more competition among producers that causes more reduction in prices. For example, in the dairy industry where there are lots of producers, they can attract more consumers by offering a lower price on their advertisements. Admittedly, however, these positive aspects pave the way for many negative consequences such as consumerism.

By contrast, commercials bring a new set of concerns. First of all, they use some tricks which create unreal needs. Since producers concern about sales promotion and they want to capture more market share, ads are able to persuade people to buy things that they do not need. The temptation is one of the certain goals of advertising, consequently, there are some potential problems that are certain to arise such as Materialistic approaches promotion, and a wide variety of environmental damages. Another negative point is the detrimental effect of commercials on the eating habits of society. For example, advertisements for fast foods or unhealthy snacks can change people’s diets, especially the young generation. This alarming trend poses serious threats to health. Obesity or high blood pressure because of the overconsumption of fast food is the next epidemiologic challenge facing today's doctors.

In conclusion, I uphold this conviction that in spite of advantages like educating people, advertisements have more negative impacts that in the long-term can cause many potential problems.