Celebrity status no longer equates vwith talent/accomplishments. Discuss

If not talent and accomplishment, then what else is left to celebrate? In my view a true celebrity is one whose life and work is worth a celebration. Let us dig a little deeper to understand this topic.

To begin, being a celebrity is not about having a ‘temporary-status’. It is not a title or a tag that changes with time. Being a celebrity is a matter of joy for ever. From this perspective a celebrity is one who inspires people, even after his/her death. To quote an example, Mother terssa is a true celebrity on this parameter. Bhagat Singh and Gandhi, are also two such inspiring personalities which I regard as celebrities. Simlarly, Ratan Tata and Bill Gates are two celebrities from the field of business. Further, Amitabh Bachchan and Al Pachino are the true luminaries from the tinsel-world.

A celebrity in never cares or works for being a celebrity. Their goal is not being famous or rich, but being true to oneself and to serve the world in the best possible way. Glamour and fan-following are the off-shoots not the essence of being a celebrity.

Ironically, people consider famous people as celebrities. This is a wrong notion. Dawood Ibrahim and Ram Rahim might be two names which are known or famous. But, are they celebrities? Do you want to celebrate their success? It is time we understand the difference between being a celebrity, and being known or famous.

To conclude, Gold is gold, even if it does not glitter. Being a celebrity is not about name and fame, but it is about being true to yourself. It is about setting a new paradigm for generations to draw inspiration from.