Increasing levels of crime

In many countries, the levels of crime have risen through the last years to unprecedented levels. The crimes even became more serious and accompanied sometimes with high violence. Despite the presence of a large number of prisons we have increasing numbers of criminals each year. I think this is a multi-factorial problem and I will address some leading causes from my point of view.

Lake of deterrence in many crimes with reluctance in enforcing the laws and put them into action is an important issue, with many people who do not abide by these laws. People who commit crimes have to be punished and accept the consequences of their acts.

The Increasing number of poorer people in different societies who live in slums and possessing poor living condition is another leading cause, researches found that many criminals committee crimes against property just for income inequality.

Globalization has its impact on the high levels of crimes through the easy spread of recent and violent crimes when been published via the mass and social media especially among immature young people who think they will attract attention by committing such crimes.

Offenses sometimes come from unexpected persons, policemen, for example, think that they are above law and should not be punished for traffic offenses.

Rather than increasing the number of prisons or passing new laws, I think the best approach is to enforce these laws and make them more strict. This helps the government to combat the crimes.

Preventing the crimes in the 1st place is an important issue, this could be achieved when we get our properties well protected. Improving the conditions of poorer people in our society may be another factor helping in lowering the number of criminals in our society.