The internet has transformed the way information is shared and consumed, but it has also created problems that did not exist before.

What are the most serious problems associated with the internet and what solutions can you suggest?

The advancements in the information technology sector not only enhanced the way of message being exchanged but also brought many issues that are new to humankind. Various problems such as unemployment and personal information theft could result from this situation, certain measures could be taken to tackle this situation.

The transformation of the internet has created two major problems. One of the main issues is that unemployment due to automation at the workplace. Nowadays may organizations automate their mundane workflow with the help of the internet to reduce manpower usage and improve the profit margin. This development results in job cuts and downsizing in those companies. For example, in Singapore, hypermarkets are equipped with automatic checkout machines which eliminate the need for cashiers at the counters. Another problem is identity theft by cybercriminals. Majority of individuals using their computer without proper computer knowledge. This development leads hackers to infiltrate and invades the victim's personal computer through a simple malware attack. Once a hacker gains access to the unprotected computer network it would not be a tough job for him or her to steal sensitive data from that computer system.

However, various possible courses of action could be taken to alleviate this situation. The primary solution would be empowering the unskilled labor workforce with the new skills which have high demand in the job market. When unskilled workers are equipped with appropriate skills they could land in a new job using their competencies. Another solution to solve data theft is to have necessary preventive measures in place. For example, installing an appropriate antivirus software could avoid any kind of malware attack from cybercriminals. Such preventive care not only safeguards personal computers but also avoids the risk of revealing sensitive personal information to hackers.

In conclusion, the improvements in technology brought several new problems such as job redundancies and risk of privacy but this could be addressed by teaching new skills to the unskilled workforce and implementing preventive measures to protect sensitive information.