Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

We are in the era of generation fourth industrial revolution, which is based on revolutionary technological advancemnet. Development of technology has certainly impacted our daily life including the way we communicate. I am completely conviced that with changing world, we should leave old methods behind and adapt ourselves to new ways of communication.

Firstly,In the past, letters were used for personal communication. For instance, to send invitaion to friends & family, apprising family of your current status and day to day activities, send a apology letter to wife etc. In today's world, the same communcation can be done using different channel. For instance, one can use e-mail, mobile phones, instant messaging apps, social media as communication channel to communicate with friends and family.

Secondly, in the past, letters were used for official communication to report to manager, lodge a request or complaint to different departments etc. Now almost all over the world, official communication is through electronic medium.

Using modern communication has various advantages. First and foremost, guaranteed delivery. Email reaches to recipent immediately and sender gets an acknowledgentment immediately. Secondaly, its cost effective as there is no stamp duty need to be paid as most of the modern tools used for communication are free of cost. Thirdly, communication is fast and takes same time to deliver across the world where as in traditional letter world, time to deliver to letter was dependent upon distance. Finally, electronic medium is enviornment friendly. To write a letter, one need to use paper for which raw material is tree. The more we will use electronic medium, the less tree will be cut to eventually save enviornment.

Letter is definaltely a better way to personalize a feeling and perhaps better way to convey not only messages but also to build relationship. However, one can use emojis to replicate the sam emotions and feelsings using modern tools. I certainly believe, this is time for us to move on and contribute to make a better world.