Nowadays plastic money replacements such as credit and debit cards are extremely popular, even more than banknotes and coins. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Currently, electronic transactions are increasingly becoming popular, and it is gradually replacing traditional banking systems. The uses of paper money is being suppressed by the plastic money like credit and debit cards because it provides a range of convenience to mass people. However, this change has both negative and positive consequences, and this essay deals both with them.

To begin with, firstly, plastic money is successfully accepted by merchandisers worldwide because it takes less payment processing time. Plastic money offers instant and real-time transaction, which usually saves time in withdrawing cash from an ATM, and writing a cheque. Latter generally takes two to three business working days in clearance, and hence, making a payment slow and delay. For an example, according to a latest survey carried out in the Indian cities and Suburban areas, revealed that around 90% of people like to go cashless while shopping. They prefer to use plastic cards over cash cause instant payment. Personally, I also do not like to wait in a long queue to pay my utility bills and other expenses knowing to wastage of my time, which I can utilise on doing some other important task.

Secondly, it does not add an instant burden of paying payment on consumers. Facilities like pay later and EMI payments provide great flexibility to individual persons. As a result, it is much useful in managing finance for many. Lastly, electronic transactions are free from carrying cash, and therefore, it is helpful in adding a sense of security and reducing an amount of burden on individual people. Moreover, plastic cards are very relaxing at the time of emergency such as shortage of cash at billing counter.

On the other hand, with regards to online security, digital transactions have has some detrimental effects on each individual person. Data hacking are being rapidly increasing with the advancement of technology. Consequently, it leads to rising in digital crimes such as fraud and misuse of plastic cards. In addition, it is also considered as plastic debt by some people owing to collecting a huge amount of interest, if the payment is not made on time. For an instance, according to a recent survey carried out by State Bank of India, listed that 5% of its finance is earned from the interest oftenly not paid by credit card holders.

To conclude, although electronic transactions are possibly not secure due to increasing data theft, it is yet replacing traditional banking systems due to its Global acceptance, and others facilities particularly, less payment processing time, provides security for not holding cash, and supports in finance management.