Recently, abortion increases rapidly and becomes a controversial topic. Some people suppose that abortion should be legal while others are against it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many women are rapidly opting for abortion which is now becoming the main hub of controversies. It is argued by many that these cases should be made legal whilst others believe that legal interference is not required. This essay will discuss both views and provide evidence as to why opting for abortion should become legal by all.

On the one hand, many women think that government laws and legalities should not be applied on abortion. Indeed, continuing with the pregnancy and having a child should be a women's own personal choice. These women know what's best for them and their families and hence should be granted freedom of their choice and bodies. For instance, whether a woman wants a child or not is genuinely decided by them during their first trimester and no women chooses to opt for abortion during late pregnancy. Therefore, women should be trusted and no government restrictions should be placed on abortion.

On the other hand, most women believe that it should be made legal as many ladies or girls selecting for abortion are either poor or victims of sexual assault and abuse. They are not aware of their pregnancy during early days, mostly due to shock and trauma. These females do not have required finances or knowledge to raise a child and are not ready to take up this huge responsibility. For example, many rape victims in India are forced to take care of their child since abortion is illegal. These females later go into depression and take drastic steps by harming themselves. Hence, the need for making abortion legal is to protect these women/girls.

To sum up, abortion should be made legal by all irrespective of richness or poverty, a victim of sexual abuse or by choice as these women are aware whether they can take up the responsibility of bringing up a child or not.