Some employers offer their employees subsidised membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so.

Consider the arguments from both aspects of this possible debate, and reach a conclusion.

Employers are always seeking ways to enhance their employee’s productivity, and subsiding healthy pursuits may be one way of achieving this. There are arguments on both the sides, which will discuss here.

On the one hand, it might be said that if workers are fitter and healthier, their working time will be more efficient, leading to higher levels of output and services. Furthermore, the work/life balance will be highly improved, because their leisure time will be more fulfilling. Sedentary lifestyle, recent times, working long hours behind a desk would increase the employee’s stress, which could be reduced when encourage playing sports. This may even be motivating than pay increments, perks or financial rewards such as bonuses and incentives. Finally, they might be feeling healthier which is itself a motivating factor.

Conversely, some are the opinion that spending resources for leisure activities may be impotent to the employees rather could use it to enhance their skills which can measurable. It also might be said that ongoing training or day release training programme may help to achieve careers progression and have better job prospects. Added to this is the lack of skill of employees may be reduced immensely, leading to fortify the relationship between employers and staff. Lastly, this may also reduce the risk of redundancy if the company restructures, downsizes or outsources its workforce.

In conclusion, it seems to me that, while the company spend budgets for leisure activities, training the employees also necessary. Spending funds on ongoing training would appear to be a better use of company financial resources.