Some governments spend a lot of public money training individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Every country have a yearly budget to spent on different sports to represent their country at international level. However, there are few peoples believe that this money is well spent on more general things which help majority of their citizens. I completely disagree with this notion.

The money governments spent on athelets might looks benifiting individual only, but it eventually helps building the good repo of the country at international platform. when a athelete of any country wins any tournament at internation level, it not only make whole country proud but also give sense of power to the country. For example, every year China spent humongous amout on training their athelet to compete in olympics, which results in china winning maximum number of gold medal every year and this in return has given china recognition globally.

Having said that, while country focus on the training of their international players, it also help boosting their economy. When the players of a country are known internationally, they attracts big brands to invest in their country and also open different sources of income for the government. For instance, if we talk about BCCI i.e. India's cricket board, which is one of the richest board in the world hence, it contribute to the Indian economy. BCCI plan different tournamnets in India where many tourists also visit to India and help improve tourism.

Many countries focusing on providing talented individuals proper training and support so that they can perform well and win medals and tournaments at international events. In my opinion, it is the right use of public fund as they not only provide their country a global recognition but also boost govenrmnet income by different means like inviting brands to invest, attracting tourists etc.