Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As we are living in an era of globalization in which advertisements of products play a pivotal role not only in it sale but also in imparting knowledge about the commodity. Thus there is a raging debate where some people say that commercials act as a source of knowledge while others believe that it allures people to buy unnecessary things. I agree with the former view and will elucidate it in the below paragraphs.

First and foremost advertisements are used not only established brands but also by startups in the industry to educate consumers. Many companies associate celebrities to promote their products and thus it acts an alluring mechanism for customers. Companies ranging from pharmaceutical to modern electronic gadgets provide benefits of their products on pamphlets thus helps the consumers to do a comparison with a competing product before making a final decision to eventually buy it. In a recent survey from Business Times, it was mentioned in an article that around 80 per cent of people are benefited with the advertisement as they aid consumers in decision-making ability.

Secondly, commercials also help consumers by increasing their knowledge base on the products which can improve their lives. In this era of digitization with the advent of the Internet, it becomes easier for customers to watch products adverts which can make their life simpler for instance use of modern gadgets like the washing machine, rice-cookers are already making a huge difference in the lives of people. Similarly, with the introduction of geo positing system maps and automatic gear shifting in the cars are making a huge impact in travelling long distances and the same is shown by various car manufacturers as a differentiator to improve human lives.

Thus In my opinion, though advertisement allure consumers to buy unnecessary products but it an important medium of telling the customer of new products and technology which can improve their lives.