Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by many people that college students should have the freedom to choose courses as per their interest. On the other hand, others believe that courses which are beneficial to students in future should only be included in their study. This essay will discuss both these views and will conclude with why I believe that students should have autonomy in selecting their courses.

First of all, students who study in subjects related to their area of interest can succeed easily. No pressure on studying specific subjects can relax students mind and boost creativity. For example, people who have attained supreme level in arts field had great freedom on opting for this line and were not as good in Math or Science. Moreover, these students can enjoy their coursework and feel passionate about excelling further. They also acquire satisfaction towards their occupation in future. For these reasons, students should be able to study the subjects matching their area of interest.

However, opposite is also often true. Studying subjects like science and technology can provide stability in people’s life. As there are more job opportunities available, there are less chances that they will have to stay unemployed. For instance, one research published in NY Times suggested that students having degree in engineering field have 86% probability of having a job within 3 months of graduation. Thus, for secure future and financial stability it is imperative to study in rewarding fields.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that students should be able to pursue their studies with their area of interest. Although there is somewhat secure future expected by studying in fields like science or match, it still does not guarantee anything without one’s individual efforts and dedication. Students can devote more time and energy more time and energy in the field they like and also feel satisfied selection even if it does not earn them good money.