Some people think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individuals to protect themselves. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

One of the primary responsibilities of the government is to maintain law & order, control crime and protect the citizens. But

some people believe that more than the government, people should take the ownership and measures for their protection.

People who emphasis that individuals should be made accountable for their security have some points. First and foremost, government is involved in so many programs and may not focus on every facts required to protect the each citizen. Consequently, there might be loopholes in controlling the crime. For example, police stations keeps the records of the registered criminals and set a watch on them, but there are numerous petty criminals in local area which go unnoticed. Another point is that in most of the countries, government resources are limited and in case of crisis, help may not be arrived on time and people may suffer badly because of delayed help.

However, numerous people look up to government for providing protection and control crimes. It is considered that government resources are well trained in handling crime situation effectively in different circumstances. Police in most of the country are equipped with tools required to control and prevent the crime. For instance, in case of unrest, police use light weapons to arrest the criminals and save the victim. Also, government has local intelligence service by which they get to know in advance about the perpetration of crimes. Therefore, a lot more planning can be done to prevent the crime.

In conclusion, people should be alert and take steps for their protection. However, it is the primary responsibility of government to protect the people and stop the crimes.