Some people think that modern technology is making people more sociable, while others think it is making them less sociable. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Human beings are social animals. While some people believe that technology advancements are having negative impact on social life of humans, others think that it helps in increasing social interactions. This essay will discuss both view and provide evidence why I agree with those who think technology has positive impact on networking.

To begin with, modern technology platforms allows people to do networking online from the comfort of their home instead of going out and meeting in-person. There are numerous social networking websites, chat rooms, blogs wherein people connect with each other from their mobiles, laptops and desktops but these modes of communication leads to shallow friendships and relationships. For instance on festivities people nowadays send Whatsapp message to everyone as a formality without taking effort to call/write their friends/family or personally attending celebrations. As a result, new generation is suffering from loneliness, anxiety and depression more than any previous generation when there was no technology.

In contrast, technology has made distances disappear and people can connect with anyone at anytime. In this fast paced world, people move out of their home for studies or work thus mobiles/internet play a vital role in staying connected with friends and family. To illustrate, not only long-lost friends, colleagues can be contacted on Facebook and Linkedin but also people with similar interests can meet or make new friends. Furthermore, new modes of communication such as Skype, Whatsapp are bringing people closer as they can do video call to stay connected or develop their relationships without any barrier of distance.

In conclusion, although there are drawbacks of isolation using technology to build social connections, I would agree with those who believe technology has led to enhanced social life as it makes world a small place to connect with anyone, anywhere and anytime.