Some people think that school children need to learn practical skills such as car maintenance or bank account management along with the academic subjects at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that life skills should be taught at schools in addition to the standard academic schedule. In my opinion, I disagree that schools should teach skills like bank account management and car maintenance.

It is more important for teachers to stay focus on providing academic knowledge for students. School subjects like math, science, or literature are the very basis to shape people’s future life. As a result, students who are equipped with these elementary subjects lay strong foundations for their success in both life and career. Moreover, we live in a knowledge-based economy where independent thinking and problem-solving are the most important skills; therefore, certain skills such as car maintenance or bank account management shall not necessary. Finally, there are many subjects that schools should provide for their students, which result in no vacant time for other training.