Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views people think that children should be encouraged to learn a sense of competition . I believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

On the one hand, it can be argued that a spirit of competition should be raised among children. The reason for this is that competition can be a great source of motivation for children. For example, in their lessons, teachers use games or prizes to encourage children to work harder to outdo others . Therefore competition builds children’s self confidence, push them to work harder, progress more quickly. Furthermore, it also prepares for situations when children leave school. For instance, After graduating from school , they need to look for a job and they have to go through interview. So during the job interview, they have to prove their abilities to compete other candidates to be accepted into the job.

On the other hand, I agree with people who believe that it is more important to teach children how to cooperate with others. Co-operation plays an important role in many aspects of adult life. For example, in team sports, players must work together to win the game. In the workplace adults are expected to work in teams and support each other to reach the common goal of the company. According to the wider view , without close cooperation of governments and countries, humans can not deal with big issues such as poverty, climate change or pandemics.

In conclusion, there are convincing arguments both for and against competition in children. I believe that children should be taught to co-operates become more useful adults