Some think that people are responsible for a solution to pollution made by transportation and others think that government are responsible. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The pollution has been tremendously raised due to large number of vehicles on the road. Some people consider that it is responsibility of citizens to curb the pollution caused from the growing traffic, however other think that it is the obligation of state to combat this problem. In my opinion, we could tackle this problem with the collaborative efforts from government and individuals.

On the one hand, people must come up with initiatives to mitigate the effects of pollution contributed by automobiles. The mainstay to this belief is that public could cut off using the vehicles which are emitting harmful pollutants such as carbon monoxide and carbon dioxide in the environment. In the other words, the level of pollution will reduce, if more people commute by hybrid electric vehicles instead of using old conventional vehicles. Further, if people prefer carpool, public transport and cycling in moving to and from places, this will have positive impacts on their health and environment alike. In addition, people could grow more trees and plants because they absorb pollutants which could contaminate the environment.

One the other hand, it is advocated that state must devise strategies to reduced the levels of pollution. Firstly, government bodies can formulate vehicle emission standard and ban the vehicle which are not meeting these standards. To illustrate, it has been found from a survey report conducted by environmentalist in UK that countries which have legislated and carried out the vehicle emission standard were able to reduce pollution to a great extent. Lastly, government can run frequent awareness campaigns among masses about conservation of environment by growing trees and plants.

To conclude, pollution related to transport has risen at an alarming rate. In my opinion, we could control the levels of pollution with the equal contributions from government and individuals