Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic?

What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Adventure tourism is evolving by leaps and bounds. In the current scenario, a large number of tourists are travelling to the locations where the situations are very difficult to live. Visiting these regions have both merits and drawbacks for the travellers and I shall discuss both in this essay.

To embark with the benefits, the primary advantage is that adventurous places improve confidence in one's abilities. In other words, people who visit such places always have the passion and they love to test their limits. For example, In India, hikers are trekking to most difficult places such as Churdhar peak, Triund, as this gives them a sense of satisfaction and brings the rush of adrenaline in them.

Another positive is that it helps in the economy. If the individuals start going to the untouched territories, the government will start noticing and for the convenience of tourists, they will build roads and hotels in such areas. This will give employment opportunities to the locals and thus boosts the economy.

On the other hand, there are some negatives to visiting hostile places. If things go against the plan, there can be serious issues such as accidents, which can cause serious damage and can leave a person immobile for life. For instance, the reports reveal that mountaineers going on mountain peaks such as Mount Everest, sometimes become paralysed, if they get stuck in them.

Furthermore, people going on these journeys can also face unknown consequences, which can affect both their families and the administration. To illustrate, during rafting, if there is any turbulence in the river, people might not able to handle themselves and get lost in the water and authorities have to launch costly rescue missions.

To conclude, although there are positives of visiting difficult places such as adventure and great experience, the disadvantages cannot be neglected and people have to be careful and well protected while travelling to these places.