You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

We all follow advertisements to take purchasing decisions. To what extent they significantly influence depends upon the viewer's perception of the advertisement.

A person who has lesser understanding will imagine that all that he watches on TV, news papers and hoardings are real products which are of good quality since a branded company has advertised. They are gullible and buy those products even if not required for a household and show no remorse over their reckless spending. For example, a middle income person sees an I Pad advert and orders one online immediately even though he owns a laptop already which can alternatively serve his purpose. This is a waste of money.

A smart consumer always looks for value added products in the market and adverts aid in making them understand a products value . He will actually choose to purchase the above device when he does not have a laptop. If he understands from the advertisements that this device's life span is only one year, he will opt to purchase a computer or an android device enabling him to save money. A truly intelligent man always scans media looking for alternative product information which will offer him optimal satisfaction through price range and its productivity. He can make economic decisions based on what he sees from many choices as well and this will increase consumer satisfaction when correct and useful info is digested by the viewer.

To conclude, I do not agree to the viewpoint that liking everything online is a good idea as trying to acquire each and everything one likes will cost an arm and a leg. From this, we all should learn a valuable lesson that you are the choice maker and take advertisements positively as they are easily accessible shopping catalogues which reduces your number of shop visits.