You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish.

Why do you think this is happening?

What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

People have started contributing more to waste generation recently. There are multiple reasons for this trend such as daily household chores, increasing consumption, and lack of awareness in product packaging. Waste generation cannot be completely avoided. However, it can be reduced by promoting the reusability of certain items and proper policy-making by the Government.

Firstly, regular activities such as Cooking and Cleaning are prone to create waste products which cannot be avoided all-together. The cooking waste such as left-out vegetables and fruits adds a significant portion to the overall trash. Secondly, Due to lifestyle changes and increasing population, there is a tremendous increase in the consumption of products. This leads to rapid manufacturing of packaging materials, that go to trash after one-time use. Lastly, there is a lack of awareness about reusability among FMCG companies with respect to packaging. Although they use bio-degradable material for packaging, it does not help in solving this situation.

The Government can play a vital role to reverse this trend. Local government institutions can set up biogas projects so that Food and vegetable waste can be used as raw material to generate eco-friendly gas. They can also run campaigns to raise consumer awareness about efficient consumption. The Policy can be drafted under the guidance of experts to promote manufacturing reusable wrappers and boxes that can be used for packaging. Besides, they can also reward and provide tax breaks to companies investing in innovative thinking to reduce waste generation.

In conclusion, Mother Earth can be saved from these man-made environmental hazards only when there is mutual cooperation between the people and the Government. Consuming wisely and promoting reusability are effective ways to save the planet for future generations.